Best Chess Players

The World has seen a number of amazing chess players and we wanted to list some of the very best.

José Raúl Capablanca (1888-1942)

José Raúl Capablanca was a Cuban chess player and the world chess champion from 1921 to 1927. Capablanca is usually considered one of the very best chess players of all time and famously known for his endgame skills. He lost the world champion title to Alexander Alekhine in 1927 and was unsuccessful in rearranging a rematch. Capablanca is also the author of many great chess books, most famously Chess Fundamentals.

Garry Kasparov (1963-)

Garry Kasparov is a Russian chess grandmaster and the World Chess Champion between 1985-1993 and again in 1993-2000. He was also ranked #1 from 1986 until his retirement in 2005 and his peak rating 2851 was the highest ever until Magnus Carlsen. Since retiring Kasparov has been active in politics and writing.

Alexander Alekhine (1892-1946)

Alexander Alekhine was a Russian and French chess player and the fourth World Chess Champion. Originally Russian Alekhine was already at the age of 22 widely considered the best player in the world having won most of the tournaments he took part in. In 1921 Alehkine emigrated to France and in 1927 he became the official World Champion after taking the crown from José Raúl Capablanca.

Bobby Fischer (1943-2008)

Bobby Fischer was an American chess Grandmaster who became the 11th chess World Champion after beating Boris Spassky in 1972. Fischer's life took an unexpected turn after winning an unofficial rematch against Spassky in 1992 that led to conflicts with the US government which led to him leaving chess behind. He is famous for many incredible books, a timing system and even a variant of chess called Fischerandom Chess. His life has also been portrayed in several movies and books.

Anatoly Karpov (1951-)

Anatoly Karpov is a Russian chess grandmaster and former World Champion. He was the official world champion from 1975 to 1985 until Garry Kasparov beat him in a match. He became a champion again in 1993 after Kasparov broke away from FIDE in 1993 and held the title until 1999 when FIDE renewed their world championship rules. Karpov's peak Elo rating was as high as 2780 which would be extremely competitive even today.

Do you feel like something is missing? Submit your own resources!


Never miss a thing! Sign up for our newsletter to stay updated.


Chessfort is the best collection of chess resources online and offline.